A very wise friend of mine once told me to judge a book not by the quotes on the back cover, but by who said it. So you can imagine my expression as I picked up The Goose Girl and saw Stephanie Meyer’s quote on the front cover *rolls eyes* (only kidding, Twihards). But then I flipped it over to see the New York Times Book Review call it “enchanting”, which so happens to be one of my favorite words, so there was that.

From the back cover:
“Anidori-Kiladra Talianna Isilee, Crown Princess of Kildenree, was born with her eyes closed and a word on her tongue. She spent the early years of her life listening to her aunt’s stories and learning the language of the swans. Then, a colt was born with a word on his tongue–his name, Falada–and when Ani spoke it, she found the key to his language, too. But as Ani’s gift grew, so did others’ mistrust of it, and soon her mother felt she had no choice but to send her away to be queen of a foreign land…”

This description only covers the very premise of the book, which I like! No spoilers. But I didn’t really know what to expect plot wise. Without giving too much away, I’ll let you know that the story is largely centered on treason, friendships, and loyalty, chronicling Ani’s journey to and sojourn in the new kingdom, Bayern, and the traitors who accompany her. I can only sing the praises of Shannon Hale’s writing. She writes so eloquently with vivid imagery but not so much that you get distracted from the action. This is a really, really great read. Fairytale retelling with princesses and magic? Count me in. Luckily, there are three more books in the Bayern series! I’m reading them all.

20120630-112251.jpg

