Topping the list of things that make me inordinately happy are new running shoes. I like retiring the old pair, the worn out, raggedy, memory-filled pair. My last shoes went through a lot. They carried me through stressful work days and a really hot marathon. They ran all over Boston. And Cambridge, Somerville, Newton, Allston, Brighton, and Brookline. They ran on the Charles River, around Jamaica Pond, through the Emerald Necklace, and to the ocean.

Like most runners, rarely do I branch out in terms of trying new shoes. I wore the Asics 2100 series for 10 years before switching to a more lightweight Nike Lunar Elite at the beginning of this year. In addition to a new pair of Lunar Elites, I picked up the Nike Free 3.0’s. Let’s just say I’m never going back.

I’m excited to see where these take me. We’ll be together for the Tower of Terror 10-Miler and the Chicago Marathon this fall, in addition to perhaps a half marathon or two this summer. More to follow re: training plans and the like!

What is everyone training for? Is anyone watching the Olympic Trials? I am, as always, in complete awe.

