GalleyCat posted an article today about the announcing of MTV’s movie award nominations, which were heavy on book-to-film adaptations. I used to be that girl who stuck her nose to the sky when the characters on those beloved pages became faces on a screen. Not that I was trying to get all holier than thou on moviegoers who hadn’t read the book (exception: those who didn’t finish Harry Potter. I don’t understand you.), but I mostly feared that my best-loved stories would be turned into cinematic atrocities.  (Which is why I’m anxious/excited for the release of Baz Luhrmann’s production of The Great Gatsby, starring Leo and Carey Mulligan. Perfect casting. Also, Gemma Ward is in it. Remember her? Throwback to TeenVogue circa 2006.)

source

Ahem, back to the MTV movie award nominees. Literary adaptations nabbed 4/5 spots in the “movie of the year” category: The Hunger GamesHarry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 2The Help and The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn – Part 1. These nominees, apart perhaps from The Help, quickly turned into cult phenomenons, and I’m curious to understand why (thoughts welcomed/encouraged). Though I won’t dive into the vast difference in quality between Twilight and well, everyone else, I find it interesting that each book, so different in writing style, managed to create such a hullabaloo across generations, even. And all within the same year.

Let’s hear your thoughts on book adaptations! Love ’em, hate ’em? Which “movie of the year” nominee do you think worked best in adapting the book? Favorites? Least favorites? What made people go crazy for The Hunger Games right before the movie release?

